Splunk Search

looping through all rows of lookup file and match

ankitarath2011
Path Finder

Hi,

I have a lookup file with following structure.

pattern,output_value
 "aaa\s+:\d\d:", 2
 "aaa\s+:\d:", 1

For my index I need match each pattern from this file for each event and then take the corresponding output_value. Something like mentioned below.

For each_event in all_events_for_my_idx:
     for line in lookup_patterns:
           if match(line[0], each_event):
                my_val = line[1]
                break

I am new to Splunk, so wrote the logic like other program .

Tags (3)
0 Karma

maciep
Champion

how many patterns do you have? if it's no many, you can just use eval command with case/match functions.

... | eval my_val = case(match(_raw,"aaa\s+:\d\d:"),2,match(_raw,"aaa\s+:\d:"),1,true(),"n/a")

If you have a lot that might be a bit more difficult. Splunk does not have a regex match built into the lookup functionality - only wildcard and cidr.

And being new to Splunk, you'll have to rework your brain a bit from programming to puzzle solving. In general (but not exactly always true), when you pipe your search results to a new command, splunk loops through all of the events - that's your outer loop. And so you need to munge your results through one or commands/pipes until it's the way you want it - in this case we're using eval to create a new field on each iteration

0 Karma

ankitarath2011
Path Finder

Hey Thanks. There are many pattern actually and requirement is such that we can not keep it in query. We need to keep it in some configurable file (e.g. lookup) where more can be added.

0 Karma

maciep
Champion

maybe in that case you can put it in props.conf as an EVAL .... and then my_val would just automatically be created for that sourcetype?

or if it's needed in a dashboard, the a lookup could be used to ultimately create a token (dashboard var) with the case functionality and then that token used in the search.