ryastrebov
Communicator

Hello!
I have a csv-file that contains list of source, for example:
source
MySource1
MySource2
MySource3
I have also a search request, it is the same for all sources.
I need to create automatic consistent search for all source - First search in MySource1, Second search in MySource2,...
Each subsequent search should start only when the previous search is over.
I am new in programming, unfortunately.

I can also create text file with list of searches, if this can help to find of solution of my problem.
Any ideas?

0 Karma
1 Solution

alacercogitatus
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

==Update==

So if you have a file like below (call it tmsi_lookup.csv):

tmsi,tmsi_old
value1,value2
value3,value4

You can then do:

source=mobile_source | lookup tmsi_lookup.csv tmsi_old OUTPUT tmsi

This will take the "tmsi_old" field of events in source "mobile_source" and lookup the corresponding tmsi from the lookup file and populate it into the "tmsi" field.

Does this help more?

==Orig==

Map Command will do this. However, as mentioned by jonuwz, a more efficient search can be done if the sources all contain similar information.

Example (with similar information)

source=MySource1 OR source=MySource2 | stats sum(myField) by source

Example (let's just mash a bunch of crap together)

|inputlookup MySources.csv | map [ source=$sourcecsv$ | stats count ]

The more information you provide, I can write better searches to get your end result.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

alacercogitatus
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

==Update==

So if you have a file like below (call it tmsi_lookup.csv):

tmsi,tmsi_old
value1,value2
value3,value4

You can then do:

source=mobile_source | lookup tmsi_lookup.csv tmsi_old OUTPUT tmsi

This will take the "tmsi_old" field of events in source "mobile_source" and lookup the corresponding tmsi from the lookup file and populate it into the "tmsi" field.

Does this help more?

==Orig==