Splunk Search

Working with OpenTelemetry Cumulative Histogram Bucket with Calculations

cchan
Loves-to-Learn

Hi, I am new to Splunk and couldn't figure out how to work with OpenTelemetry's histogram bucket in Splunk. 

I have a basic set up of 3 buckets from OTel, with le=2000, 8000, +Inf and the bucket name is "http.server.duration_bucket".

My goal is to display the number count inside the 3 buckets for a 15min period, perform a calculations using those values, and add the calculated value as a 4th column.

I came up with this so far:

| mstats max("http.server.duration_bucket") chart=true WHERE "index"="metrics" span=15m BY le
| fields - _span*
| rename * AS "* /s"
| rename "_time /s" AS _time

But immediately I see 2 issues:

a) the 8000 bucket results are added with 2000 bucket results as well because they are recorded as cumulative histograms.

b) the values inside the bucket is always increasing, so I cannot isolate how many counts belong to 2000 bucket now vs the same bucket 15mins ago.

And I realized that I don't know how to get the right calculation and separate the buckets without using "BY le", so I cannot perform calculations from there.

So my question is:

1) Is there an example of function for displaying the real non-cumulative values in the histogram for a given period?

2) If my calculation is max(le=2000)*0.6 + max(le=8000)*0.4, how would I add that as a column to the search?

Thanks in advance!

Labels (1)
0 Karma
Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Splunk Observability Cloud | Unified Identity - Now Available for Existing Splunk ...

Raise your hand if you’ve already forgotten your username or password when logging into an account. (We can’t ...

Index This | How many sides does a circle have?

February 2024 Edition Hayyy Splunk Education Enthusiasts and the Eternally Curious!  We’re back with another ...

Registration for Splunk University is Now Open!