Splunk Search

Why my Saved Search is not writing summary to 'stash' souretype?

zacksoft_wf
Contributor

I am investigating a customer's concern that this  particular search is not writing summary to 'stash' sourcetype. This is the SPL we have. I am relatively new to summary index. Any pointers where I should be looking at ?

| tstats summariesonly=true count sum(Web.bytes_in) AS total_bytes_in sum(Web.bytes_out) AS total_bytes_out from datamodel=Web where sourcetype="qnet:proxysg:access*" groupby _time span=1d Web.category
| rename Web.category AS category
| eval total_bytes=total_bytes_in + total_bytes_out
| collect index=security_summary source="SavedSearch.Qnet_Daily_Category_Stats" sourcetype="SavedSearch.Qnet_Daily_Category_Stats" 
Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

jamie00171
Communicator

Hi @zacksoft_wf 

in the collect command you are specifying a different sourcetype: SavedSearch.Qnet_Daily_Category_Stats, if you remove that then the default of "stash" will be used.

FYI - any parsing rules etc. you have in props.conf for that sourcetype "SavedSearch.Qnet_Daily_Category_Stats" will no longer be applied to the events before they get to the security_summary index.

Thanks, 

Jamie

View solution in original post

0 Karma

jamie00171
Communicator

Hi @zacksoft_wf 

in the collect command you are specifying a different sourcetype: SavedSearch.Qnet_Daily_Category_Stats, if you remove that then the default of "stash" will be used.

FYI - any parsing rules etc. you have in props.conf for that sourcetype "SavedSearch.Qnet_Daily_Category_Stats" will no longer be applied to the events before they get to the security_summary index.

Thanks, 

Jamie

0 Karma

zacksoft_wf
Contributor

@jamie00171  - Thank Jamie. I am thinking to rerun my query with collect statement and removing the source type from there, so that it will default get saved into 'stash' sourcetype.