Splunk Search

Why is Index bucket rolling faster than what is set in indexes.conf?

power12
Communicator

Hello Splunkers
I am pretty new to splunk admin .I have the following config set up in indexes.conf where I set up one day for hot buckets  

[default]
maxHotSpanSecs = 86400
[splunklogger]
archiver.enableDataArchive = 0
bucketRebuildMemoryHint = 0
compressRawdata = 1
enableDataIntegrityControl = 1
enableOnlineBucketRepair = 1
enableTsidxReduction = 0
metric.enableFloatingPointCompression = 1
minHotIdleSecsBeforeForceRoll = 0
rtRouterQueueSize =
rtRouterThreads =
selfStorageThreads =
suspendHotRollByDeleteQuery = 0
syncMeta = 1
tsidxWritingLevel =

But I'm not sure why it is chunking the data this way, according to the timestamp, this one is about every 4.5-5 hours.What changes should I do to the indexes.conf

root@login-prom4:/raid/splunk-var/lib/splunk/abc/db# du -sh ./*
4.0K    ./CreationTime
756M    ./db_1675137103_1675119933_1
756M    ./db_1675154294_1675137102_2
849M    ./db_1675171544_1675154293_3
750M    ./hot_v1_0
617M    ./hot_v1_4

Thanks in Advance 

Labels (1)
0 Karma

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi

1st you should use 

splunk btool indexes list abc [--debug]

command to see what are used parameters for index abc (as you seem named your index). You could add --debug to this command to get information where/in which file those are defined. You must run this on your indexer host. If you are using volumes where you have stored your indexes then look also it's parameters.

2nd there are several parameters and other events which define when hot bucket was closed and rolled to warm not only this maxHotSpanSecs! At least the next situations will rise hot to warm rolling

• When splunk (re)starts. Bucket will rolled from hot to warm when splunk starts (not when it's go down!)
  • When hot bucket comes full. The size of bucket is defined by maxDataSize parameter (normally 750MB to 10GB based on it's value)
  • When maxHostSpanSecs has reached.