Splunk Search

Why are the eval fields blank after join?

intelli2019

Hi,
I have the query below which involves 2 joins. I know joins are not the best way but I'm a Splunk noob and there is a bit of time pressure 🙂

The top section before the "=======" works fine. However the bottom section is misbehaving. It's meant to calculate the "ESLA_Total" time which is "ESLA File End" minus "ESLA_Start" but have found that "ESLA Total" is returning blank.

I think it's something to do with the "ESLA File End" field being in a join subsearch but can't figure it out!

Any ideas?

index=esla | bucket _time span=1d as Day | stats earliest(_time) as ESLA_Start latest(_time) as ESLA_End by Day
| eval ESLA_Start=strftime(ESLA_Start,"%H:%M:%S") 
| eval ESLA_End=strftime(ESLA_End,"%H:%M:%S") 
| eval Day=strftime(Day,"%d/%m/%Y")
| join Day [search index=mule-new State=START Service="Early SLA" | bucket _time span=1d as Day | stats values(FileTime) as "ESLA File Start" by Day | eval Day=strftime(Day,"%d/%m/%Y")]
| join Day [search index=mule-new State=END Service="Early SLA" | bucket _time span=1d as Day | stats values(FileTime) as "ESLA File End" by Day | eval Day=strftime(Day,"%d/%m/%Y")]

===================================================================================

| eval st = strptime(ESLA_Start,"%H:%M:%S") | eval et = strptime("ESLA File End","%H:%M:%S") | eval diff = et - st | eval "ESLA_Total" = tostring(diff, "duration")
| fields Day ESLA_Start ESLA_End "ESLA File Start" "ESLA File End" "ESLA_Total"
0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

How is this different than this question? https://answers.splunk.com/answers/768911/eval-total-duration-in-minutes-across-2-indexes.html#answe...

You have multiple answers over there, both of which eliminate join, which is the heart of all of your problems.

0 Karma

intelli2019

Hi Woodcock.
I actually asked this same question of someone on Fiverr and he came on here and asked you guys! 🙂