Splunk Search

Using Regex to search events from a specific ip range

813_Gerb
Engager

Hello, I am new to Splunk and REGEX for that matter. What I am trying to accomplish is creating an alert when a specific event occurs with in an IP range without having to create an alert for every IP individually. Here is my very basic query.

index=n sourcetype=c message_text="you should not have done that" host="1.1.1.?" I put the question mark in there because this where I am stuck. The last octet is a range beginning at 23, and ending at 51. Excluding .26, .32, and .38-.44. Thank you for your time.

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

manjunathmeti
Champion

If you are filtering data only on host=1.1.1.* then you can filter it using logical operators in the base search only:

index=n sourcetype=c message_text="you should not have done that" (host>="1.1.1.23" AND host<="1.1.1.51") NOT (host>="1.1.1.38" AND host<="1.1.1.44") host!="1.1.1.26" host!="1.1.1.32"

View solution in original post

manjunathmeti
Champion

If you are filtering data only on host=1.1.1.* then you can filter it using logical operators in the base search only:

index=n sourcetype=c message_text="you should not have done that" (host>="1.1.1.23" AND host<="1.1.1.51") NOT (host>="1.1.1.38" AND host<="1.1.1.44") host!="1.1.1.26" host!="1.1.1.32"

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

The search command, which is implied before the first pipe, does not support regular expressions.  The best you can do is use a wildcard to grab a larger set of IP addresses and trim the set with later commands.

The listed requirements don't lend themselves to a clean regex string, but perhaps this will help.

index=n sourcetype=c message_text="you should not have done that" host="1.1.1.*" 
| eval lastOctet=mvindex(split(host,"."), 3)
| where (lastOctet>=23 AND lastOctet<=51 AND NOT lastOctet IN (26,32,38,39,40,41,42,43,44))
---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi