Splunk Search

Users loging into workstations with local admin or domain admin privs

ldefoor

First off, I am very new to Splunk and that may be my downfall. Our latest Splunk guru has left and this fell to me rather abruptly, so I apologize in advance.

I have been tasked with generating a report showing users that are logging into the local computers with elevated privileges of their standard daily accounts.

For example, if a user has two logins, username and ADUserName. I need to find out if username is a local admin on their computer and when they have logged in using that account.

I have been trying to figure this out but for the last two weeks haven't actually made any progress.

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction - thank you very much!

0 Karma

thambisetty
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Are you collecting logs from endpoints to see if  user is making login locally instead using his/her domain account.

You need to have event logs from each endpoint to detect if they are login  locally using admin rights. 4672 is the event code.

https://www.ultimatewindowssecurity.com/securitylog/encyclopedia/event.aspx?eventID=4672

or you could easily detect employees who are login using local admin account if you have Microsoft defender ATP installed on endpoints.

————————————
If this helps, give a like below.
0 Karma

ldefoor

We are ingesting those logs from all the end points.

I have searched on that and am only finding systems logging in with elevated privs. I know the admins are doing this, they will tell me they are, but looking for a way to see the activity 😞

0 Karma

thambisetty
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Did you see 4672 events collected from endpoints?

————————————
0 Karma

ldefoor

Yes, I do see 4672 from end points.Splunk.jpg

0 Karma

thambisetty
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Can you try accessing endpoint using local admin account and see how events is generated then you can understand event behavior.

————————————
0 Karma