Splunk Search

Subsearch not returning any results

gillockb
Explorer

Hello Splunksters,

I'm new to Splunk and am constructing my first subsearch.  I've read the documentation on subsearches, but am apparently missing something fundamental.  I have a log file that captures and records events based on a GUID.  Obviously GUIDs aren't something one goes searching for directly.  The primary search is by phone number.  So, I need to accept a phone number, retrieve the associated GUID and then return all the results tied to that GUID.  I have the search retrieving the GUID working, and want to use that as the subsearch.

Ultimate search I wish to run:

index="myIndex" sourcetype="mySourceType" 7c10cfbc-6892-4590-a05c-c12acf16932b

Search retrieving GUID (this works):

index="myIndex" host="myHost" sourcetype="mySourceType" <phoneNumber>
| rex field=_raw "(?<GUID>\].*$$)"
| rex field=GUID "(?<GUID>[^NAME]+)"
| eval GUID=replace(GUID, "]", "")
| rex field=GUID mode=sed "s/(^\s+)|(\s+$)//g"
| dedup GUID
| table GUID

What I thought the subsearch should look like:

index="myIndex" sourcetype="mySourceType"  [search index="myIndex" host="myHost" sourcetype="mySourceType" <phoneNumber>
| dedup GUID
| table GUID]

Everything in the [] returns the GUID, as I understand the doc, that should be what is searched for in the main search.  What am I missing?

Thank you!

Brian

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

gillockb
Explorer

Bah!  I figured it out.  I did not realize the format command was being applied to the subsearch resulting in 

( ( GUID="7c10cfbc-6892-4590-a05c-c12acf16932b" ) ) 

instead of just the GUID value.  And as the raw data does not contain a GUID field, there was nothing to match it to.  Since I constructed the subsearch in the Search app it was giving me just the value I was looking for.  Hard lesson learned...