Splunk Search

Search for tag!=foo when "foo" doesn't exist as a tag returns nothing instead of all events.

splunk_a_tron
Engager

Hello All,

I am new to Splunk and ran into my first wall when attempting to omit search results using tags. Any help on the following would be greatly appreciated.

Use Case: We want to be able to hide/omit/delete certain events when needed. (i.e. there is an infrastructure issue that results in a days worth of events being erroneous and we do not want to include this data for historical reporting, alerting, etc. as it will throw off certain calcs like the 90 day average)

Constraints: Our Splunk admin said that they will not "delete" events except under certain circumstances (so we cannot use "|delete" as an option)

Tentative Solution: We plan to adopt the use of a tag "snooze" that we will use to suppress such "bad data" in all our searches/reports/alerts/etc.

Issue: The following works IF the tag "snooze" exists on at least one event ('Splunk search'  tag!=snooze) - this correctly returns all events that do not have a "snooze" tag on any fields. However, if NO events exist with the "snooze" tag then the search returns no results (when it should instead be returning ALL events).

Is there a way to change the evaluation so that all events are returned when a given tag doesn't currently exist? The likely scenario is that we apply the tag on a given record and that record may age out which would cause all our reports to break.

Additionally, if there is a better approach to what we are trying to achieve I am all ears.

Thank you,

Splunk-a-tron

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Well, that means that many of the ones with tag=snooze also have another tag set on it.  Which should be perfectly fine, but ... hmm.  Deserves looking into.  Though there are 10 "snoozes" in that list.  That means "NOT tag=snooze" should only hit 2 of them anyway.

There's few enough items we could just manually check them.