Splunk Search

Return Value from Subsearch to Evaluate Against

Abe_T
Explorer

I am building a search that will based on a table of products with different versions. I need to run an initial search that will return the version with most hosts ("Mainstream") and use that version to compare everything else against in order to determine if its less than/greater than (older/newer). I am currently using a foreach command to send each category of product to a subsearch which then grabs mainstream and return it so I can compare each event's version to this mainstream version. I am having extreme difficulty passing the field to the subsearch and filtering out the category by using something like a Where command without setting off confusing errors that don't really make any sense. ("Eval command malformed"). The logic of the query works when I am not using a '<<field>>' token but soon as I try pass a token with a where command within subsearch, it falls apart. I am a Splunk newbie so maybe I am missing something obvious, please advise:

| inputlookup Lookup_Table.csv
| eval Category = OSType. "-" .ProductName
| stats values(ProductVersion) AS Version values(LifeCycleStatus) AS Status by Category
| foreach  Category 
    [eval newLifecycleStatus=case(Version<
    [| inputlookup Lookup_Table.csv.csv
    | eval Category = OSType. "-" .ProductName
    | where Category =='<<FIELD>>'
    | sort -product_count
    | head 1
    | eval Version="\"".ProductVersion."\""
    | return $Version], "Declining")]

I changed this code to something like this with no luck because I cant filter the results without a where statement:

| inputlookup Lookup_Table.csv
| stats values(ProductVersion) AS Version values(LifeCycleStatus) AS Status by ProductCode
| foreach ProductCode
    [eval newLifecycleStatus=case(Version==[| inputlookup Lookup_Table.csv
    | eval NewProductCode=tostring('<<FIELD>>')
    | sort -product_count
    | head 1
    | eval ProductVersion="\"".ProductVersion."\""