Splunk Search

Questions about Splunk Enterprise- What happens after 3 quota overruns, The difference between Free and Trial, etc

hichem_khalfi
Path Finder

Hi please I have 3 questions regarding the splunk enterprise solution (500 mega free log)

infact I am a student and I want to master this solution

1/ after 3 quota overruns, what exactly happens? does splunk server stop receiving logs or what??

2/ what is the difference between: Free license and Enterprise Trial license?

3/ in case I had 2 splunk servers and I want to put one of the 2 as slave because I will need it but I only need the logs that analyzed it, what happens technically?

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @hichem_khalfi,

answering to your questions:

1)

after three exceeding, you are in license violation so the data indexing will continue, but all searches (except the ones on _* indexes) will be disabled.

To restart searching, you have to receibe an unblock key from Splunk.

2)

Both Free license and Trial License permit 500 MB/day of ingestion, but in Free License some features (e.g. login) are disabled, you can know which feature are disabled at https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/9.0.0/Admin/TypesofSplunklicenses

3), if one server must only send logs to the other, you can install on it the Universal Forwarder (free license) and configure it to send its logs to the other.

In addition, you could see at https://www.splunk.com/en_us/about-us/splunk-pledge/academic-license-application.html the conditions to have a free license for acadmic scope.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

hichem_khalfi
Path Finder

Hi @gcusello 

what I understand then: I can no longer use this server now because I had a test model containing a firewall and an antivirus with its own indexes

2- Is there a solution to complete the tests on a new splunk server without losing the existing information on the first server?

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @hichem_khalfi,