Splunk Search

Query with specific timestamp then pull the events - 5 minutes

Coal_55
Explorer

Hello Everyone.

I am pretty new with splunk. I'll try to be brief:

I know that a specific event happened at an exact time. So I want to know what happened on that machine at that time and in the last 5 minutes. This is to see what the machine was doing 5 minutes prior triggering the alert.

I got this query:    (where xxxxxxxxx  is the index, sourcetype and name of the machine I want to look)

***********************************************************************************************

xxxxxxxxx [| gentimes start=-1 | addinfo | eval earliest=relative_time(info_min_time,"-5m") |table earliest latest | format "" "" "" "" "" "" ]

***********************************************************************************************

This works well if I manually select in the timepicker anything. For example I click on "last 15 minutes", the query is in reality done for the last 20 minutes (as I want as well the 5 minutes before the earliest time).

The problem comes when I try to type an exact time in the query itself. I am trying by putting  for example:  earliest=10/19/2018:00:00:00   but it does not work. I am even trying  earliest=-1d  and it just does not listen to it, it listens to whatever is chosen in the timepicker.

Maybe I am taking  the wrong approach with my initial query.  Has anybody been in this situation? Or anyone can shed some light here? 

Thank you very much in advance.

Labels (4)
Tags (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
xxxx
    [| makeresults 
    | eval earliest=relative_time(strptime("10/19/2018:00:00:00","%m/%d/%Y:%H:%M:%S"),"-5m@m")
    | eval latest=relative_time(earliest,"+5m@m")]

View solution in original post

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
xxxx
    [| makeresults 
    | eval earliest=relative_time(strptime("10/19/2018:00:00:00","%m/%d/%Y:%H:%M:%S"),"-5m@m")
    | eval latest=relative_time(earliest,"+5m@m")]