Splunk Search

MaxMind DB Usage (more than just City): How to store and link DBs?

frog22
Explorer

All,

Hopefully I have this in the correct location, I'm still new to all of this.

Anyway, we have a subscription to MaxMind databases (Connection-Type, Domain, and ISP databases) and I would like to implement them, but don't know how.  I don't know where to store the DB's, how to link them together (if they need to be linked), and how to add them so that I utilize them in searches.

I'm fairly new to Splunk, so feel free to treat me like someone who doesn't know anything.

Greatly appreciate your help with this!

Kevin

Labels (1)
0 Karma

to4kawa
Ultra Champion

I've never done that before.
It seems to be provided as a CSV file, so why don't you register it as a lookup?

0 Karma

frog22
Explorer

to4kawa,

Lookups may be a possibility, but it's beyond my skill level and it adds layers of complication to the maintenance....

1. Updates come out weekly

2. There are 2 csv files per 1 mmdb file (6 csv files, 3 mmdb files), which will require a total of 6 lookups to maintain and run queries against

3. The csv files / mmdb's utilize subnet ranges (IPV4 & IPV6 address ranges).....1.0.64.0/24, 78.129.0.0/17, 185.91.188.0/22, 2001:218:3000::/46, 2001:410:80::/37, 2a00:df0::/32, 2a04:f580:9240::/48

4. The csv files utilize both IPV4 and IPV6 addresses

I'm totally open to suggestions, though.  Thanks!!

0 Karma

to4kawa
Ultra Champion
0 Karma

frog22
Explorer

to4kawa, while I appreciate the assistance that is already information I have.  I'm able to replace/update the Geolocation data, but there are 3 other databases worth of information that are not Geolocation data.  Since they are, collectively, 4 independent databases I'm trying to figure out how to implement them in Splunk as I believe the other 3 require the ID field in the City database in order to correlate information within the individual databases.

0 Karma

jnhth
Explorer

did you find a solution for this?