Splunk Search

Lookup in splunk

loveforsplunk
Explorer

I want to use lookup in splunk . I am very new to lookup command . I have uploaded a csv file , suppose named lookupfile.csv having four columns col1 , col2, col3, col4 . But I only want to get the details in col 3 based on search col1.

My search string is
index=abc| table col1 col3| lookup lookupfile col1 OUTPUTNEW col3

Now, among all the columns I have fields in events for only col1 and col 4 and do not have any field created for col2 and col3.

Following are my questions:
1. Is it necessary to have fields created in splunk for all the columns in CSV file.
2. How do I create field for col3 which I want to be the output based on the search of rows in col1.

Tags (2)
0 Karma

kearaspoor
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Recommend you read all the details here:
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.6.0/SearchReference/Lookup

But in short, from your search: (index=abc| table col1 col3| lookup lookupfile col1 OUTPUTNEW col3)

On the assumption that col3 doesn't already exist in your raw event data , you don't necessarily need to do the | table command before the lookup. There's nothing wrong with doing so, it just doesn't make a lot of sense if that column is just blank. If col3 does exist in your raw events, that's a whole other story and there's nothing at all wrong with the table command.

But assuming you just want to lookup up col1 and output col3, you've got the basic lookup syntax. The tricks are:

1) Make sure that "lookupfile" matches the stanza in the transforms.conf file which specifies the location of the lookup table file. Depending on if you created a lookup definition or not (http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.6.0/Knowledge/Aboutlookupsandfieldactions) this value may require the .csv at the end or be a different name than your csv file.