Splunk Search

Is there a limit with having multiple "SOURCE !=" in a search?

geelsu

Newbie here. I was exploring Dashboard setup, so started doing some searches to create one with. I started eliminating Windows Events with the following:

source!="WinEventLog:Application" source!="WinEventLog:Security"  source!="WinEventLog:Setup"

Next I clicked on the the WinEventLog:System event to exclude it from the search, but it displayed 0 events in the little popup, but there are tons of them. When I added it to the search bar like this... :

source!="WinEventLog:Application" source!="WinEventLog:Security" source!="WinEventLog:Setup" source!="WinEventLog:System"

... no events displayed, but I know there are other events which I am trying to narrow down to. Why does adding a fourth Source!= result in the display of no results at all? It happens no matter what order the WinEventLog types are entered. I've tried rearranging them, but get the same results. Obviously, this may not be the best way to narrow down to a specific event, but this approach has me wondering what is wrong.

0 Karma

esix_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

You may want to look into the differences between the "!=" and NOT (XXX) searches. There are some intrinsic differences, and its probably why you are seeing some oddities..

As Lisa says, your search is inefficient... I would recommend adjusting..

index=myindex NOT (source="WinEventLog:Application" OR source="WinEventLog:Security"  OR source="WinEventLog:Setup")

Here is some more reading on similar topics:
https://answers.splunk.com/answers/43228/use-of-not-vs.html
http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.4.0/Search/Usethesearchcommand#Difference_between_NOT_...

lguinn2
Legend

You may be hitting some limits or quirks of the user interface or the browser, I am not sure.