Splunk Search

Inputlookup, Return command <$Field> and <Field> confusion with Dashboard Implementation?

SubtotalAMG
Loves-to-Learn Lots

Hey All, 

So I'm relatively new to Splunk. I have a csv file that has multiple computers and I've created a dashboard trying to get reports based on the parameters the user chooses. The search by itself is fine and is this:

index=whatever sourcetype=whateverXxX
[ | inputlookup FileName.csv | search Type="Prod" | return host=IIS_Server ] OR
([| inputlookup FileName.csv | search Type="Prod" | return host=IIS_for_XServers cs_uri_stem=Pattern_for_Servers])
| timechart span=5m count by host

but when I start placing  that search in a dashboard with user inputs it looks like this:

[ | inputlookup FileName.csv |$Type_of_deployment$ | return host=$IIS_Server ] OR
([| inputlookup FileName.csv |$Type_of_deployment$ | return host=$IIS_for_XServers cs_uri_stem=$Pattern_for_Servers])
| timechart span=$Span_Timechart$ count by host

Once implemented I get a "Search is wating for input..." even after selecting an input and clicking the submit button.

But I found the solution for the dashboard is:

[ | inputlookup FileName.csv | $Type_of_deployment$ | return host=IIS_Server ] OR
([| inputlookup FileName.csv | $Type_of_deployment$ | return host=IIS_for_XServers cs_uri_stem=Pattern_for_Servers])

So if you noticed the difference it's the <$field> with the return command. I don't understand the difference between  <$field> and <field>.
I've searched everywhere and the documentation on it still confuses me, even posts from this community forum. Why does it matter when it comes into the dashboard?
But when I use either format ( <$field> and <field>) for normal searching it doesn't have a problem and actually spits back the exact same results between the two. Which according to the documentation and from research that's not even supposed to happen. But it throws a fit when I place it into the dashboard. Can someone ELI5?