Splunk Search

How to troubleshoot eval expressions?

fabriziorti

I'm new to Splunk, and I am trying to figure out how the eval command works in searches.
Sometimes I don't get any result, but no errors/warnings are generated (not even on any log files I can see).
How do I troubleshoot an 'eval' that does not produce anything?
For example, I was using a simple expression like:
sourcetype="rti_avdemo" | eval foo=action+1 | table action, foo
where I thought 'action' was a number. That did not produce anything. Then I figured out that 'action' is a multi-value.
In this case, eval does not produce anything, and I get no errors, warnings. How can I get some information that can help me ?

Thanks!
Fab

Tags (2)
0 Karma

fabriziorti

Thank you to both @DavidHourani and @goodair for your replies. Although I would like to see more explanation why eval is not producing a result, I understand that sometimes an expression just does not evaluate to anything.
No

0 Karma

DavidHourani
Super Champion

Hi @fabriziorti,

That's a good question, and I would say people that have used Splunk for a long time have gotten used to this but it is in fact weird to not get errors.

So to answer your question, you will not get errors anywhere for an eval not giving results as this is by design how it is meant to work: "When there are results show them, no results -- ok no problem."

Before writing an eval you just need to be sure that you're hitting the right fields, with the right type and then you're good to go, it would be easier to get an error message for it but for now it is what it is. Feel free to post any questions if you're stuck on an eval expression and you're not getting results the community would be more than happy to help.

Cheers,
David

0 Karma

goodair

You'll need to look into your data to be aware of types before writing evals and other commands, otherwise unexpected results like this will occur.