Splunk Search

How to sort by a certain pattern of number occurring in a text?

Siva04
Engager

Hi, This is my first time starting a discussion. Please pardon my mistakes. So I am trying to perform a search where I can sort based  on a series of numbers occurring at the end of a text.

example:

index=abc sourcetype=xyz  Entity=HI* Text="*Rejected message received - code 456"

index=abc sourcetype=xyz  Entity=HI* Text="*Rejected message received - code 789"

index=abc sourcetype=xyz  Entity=HI* Text="*Rejected message received - code 345"

So I would like to sort count by the  3 digit code number. Is it possible to do it?

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @Siva04,

in this case, you have to extract the code field using a regex and use it for sorting, something like this:

index=abc sourcetype=xyz  Entity=HI* (Text="*Rejected message received - code 456" OR Text="*Rejected message received - code 789" OR Text="*Rejected message received - code 345")
| rex field=Text "code\s+(?<code>\d+)$"
| stats values(code) AS code count by Text 
| sort code

Ciao.

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

0 Karma

Siva04
Engager

Hi,

I am trying to say that I want to sort it by the code that differs with every text. 

Text="*Rejected message received - code 456"

The * before the "Rejected message received " has a 6 digit number and when I do 
|stats count by Text 

it gives me the count based on the 6 digit number but instead I want it to give me count based on the code at the end of the Text. Since the code is not a field itself I am not able to do
|stats count by code

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @Siva04,

in this case, you have to extract the code field using a regex and use it for sorting, something like this:

index=abc sourcetype=xyz  Entity=HI* (Text="*Rejected message received - code 456" OR Text="*Rejected message received - code 789" OR Text="*Rejected message received - code 345")