Splunk Search

How to search the top 5 entries within a transaction by duration?

vman_me

I am trying to find the top 5 events within a transaction by duration.
The transactions are marked by "found section" and "After render" and I need to determine the top 5 events within each section by their duration. The sections might encompass several transactions with similar events in the middle called Components.

Here is my current search:

base search | transaction startswith="found section" endswith="After render_to_response"  | top 5 Components by Section

which needs more work...
I am very new to Splunk, any pointers appreciated,

• V
Tags (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

lguinn2
Legend

If there is only one "transaction" per Section, then this should work:

base search
| sort Section _time
| eventstats earliest(_time) as startTime by Section
| eval duration = _time - startTime
| stats sum(duration) as duration by Section Component
| sort Section Component -duration
| stats list(duration) as duration list(Component) as Component by Section
| eval duration=mvindex(duration,0,4)
| eval Component=mvindex(Component,0,4)

First, this establishes the starting time for each section and names it "startTime." The duration of each component is computed from this startTime. Next, the results are sorted so that the highest durations appear first in the list. Then the results are grouped and the mvindex command is used to "pick out" the first 5 results for each section.

View solution in original post

lguinn2
Legend

If there is only one "transaction" per Section, then this should work:

base search
| sort Section _time
| eventstats earliest(_time) as startTime by Section
| eval duration = _time - startTime
| stats sum(duration) as duration by Section Component
| sort Section Component -duration
| stats list(duration) as duration list(Component) as Component by Section
| eval duration=mvindex(duration,0,4)
| eval Component=mvindex(Component,0,4)