Splunk Search

How to search for an event and other surrounding events?

security_mike
Explorer

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to Splunk so forgive me if this is an easy question.

I'm trying to figure out how to a) search for an event and then b) search for different events that happened before/after the event.

For example, I want to search failed logins for a certain account, and then try to find other login events for that host 5 mins before and after. I can figure out how to search for the events individually, but don't know how to combine them and then format them into something like a table.

So my first search would be:

index="wineventlog" EventCode=4768 Result_Code=0x6

And the second search would be based on the first search, but for a different event code:

search index="wineventlog" EventCode=4624 | "filter by the results of the first search 5 mins before/after each event"

Eventually I'd want to get to a table similar to this:

Time                                  Event                                  Supporting Events

Jan 18 @ 10:01am    Event 1                               Jan 18 @ 10:03am              Event 1a

Jan 18 @ 10:02am              Event 1b

Jan 17 @ 7:33am       Event 2                              Jan 17 @ 7:35am                 Event 2a

Jan 17 @ 7:32am                 Event 2b

ect...etc...

Thanks!

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

security_mike
Explorer

Thank you! I just had to add some brackets, but that gave me exactly the results I was looking for.

index="wineventlog" (EventCode=4624 OR (EventCode=4768 Result_Code=0x6))
    [ search index="wineventlog" EventCode=4768 Result_Code=0x6
    | table src_ip]
| stats count, distinct_count(Account_Name), values(Account_Name) by src_ip

View solution in original post

0 Karma

yuanliu
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

The logic is inverted in the following.  Try

index="wineventlog" EventCode=4624
    [ index="wineventlog" EventCode=4768 Result_Code=0x6