Splunk Search

How to plot each events "OpValue" field against time by "process"?

mdwecht
Path Finder

I have about six (6) seconds worth of data in a CSV file. Each CSV record has among other fields "process", "operation", and "OpValue". I would like to see a report that resembles a strip chart of "operation" by "process" with a different color for each "process". I used splunk lookups to create the numeric field "OpValue" to represent the ascii "operation" field. The "process" field is an ascii string. When I attempt "....search.... | timechart OpValue by process" I get an error that a function is required in the position of "OpValue". I am new to splunk and I am sure I am missing something 🙂 The search is the default search that provides a view of all records in the file.

Tags (3)
1 Solution

aweitzman
Motivator

Using Splunk to plot exact (x,y) coordinates based on individual events is difficult. Normally, Splunk uses aggregation functions so that it can be flexible with respect to the time period each chart entry is representing. You can fake it, but it's a pain.

The field Splunk uses internally for event time is _time. If your TimeOfDay field isn't getting mapped to this, then you will not get a timechart.

Try something like this:

source="LogFileA.CSV" host="mycomputer" sourcetype="csv" 
| eval _time=TimeOfDay
| timechart span=10ms values(OpValue) by process

View solution in original post

aweitzman
Motivator

Using Splunk to plot exact (x,y) coordinates based on individual events is difficult. Normally, Splunk uses aggregation functions so that it can be flexible with respect to the time period each chart entry is representing. You can fake it, but it's a pain.

The field Splunk uses internally for event time is _time. If your TimeOfDay field isn't getting mapped to this, then you will not get a timechart.

Try something like this:

source="LogFileA.CSV" host="mycomputer" sourcetype="csv" 
| eval _time=TimeOfDay