Splunk Search

How to list of events per host, with heading per host, emailed in a report?

mrs_whipple
Explorer

Hi there,

I'm a noob. I'm looking to generate a report containing a list of events per host for a specific timeframe (e.g. 5 mins), grouped by host, and with a heading per host, like this:

----------------------------------------
Host: host1.somedomain.com
2023-05-26T15:36:46.000001+10:00 [2023-05-26T15:36:46+10:00] host1.somedomain.com - kernel: <blah1>
2023-05-26T15:36:46.012345+10:00 [2023-05-26T15:36:46+10:00] host1.somedomain.com - kernel: <blah2>

Host: host2.somedomain.com
2023-05-26T15:36:46.004567+10:00 [2023-05-26T15:36:46+10:00] host2.somedomain.com - kernel: <blah3>
2023-05-26T15:36:46.005678+10:00 [2023-05-26T15:36:46+10:00] host2.somedomain.com - kernel: <blah4>

etc. etc.

I have got to the point where I'm able to generate a report containing all events for the timeframe using this search, but there is no grouping by host, and therefore no heading per host:

index=myindex
| sort 0 host, _time

Can anyone suggest how I might achieve the above?

Many thanks.

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Splunk is not really a report generating tool. Having said that, you can spoof it by manipulating the events to make it look like a report

index=myindex
| stats count as events values(_raw) by host
| eval row=mvrange(0,2)
| mvexpand row
| eval "values(_raw)"=if(row=0,"-----------------
Host: ".host."
-----------------",'values(_raw)')
| fields - host events row

Note that you don't need the sort since values() will sort for you and given that your events already start with a timestamp, which, when sorted lexicographically, will appear in time order, and stats will sort the hosts for you as this field is in the by clause.

View solution in original post

isoutamo
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi

this will be quite unreadable as soon as you will get more events and hosts 😞