Splunk Search

How to ignore ip_address from events that exist in a lookup table

wtaylor149
Explorer

Splunk Newbie here....

I'm looking to create a search looking for internal hosts reaching out to external DNS servers. I want to exclude our local internal dns servers as well as the root_dns servers. I have created a lookup table (csv file) that has all the root dns servers. How do I tell my search string to not display the root servers?

Example search:
index=asa dest_port=53 action=blocked dest_ip!=10* AND dest_ip!-172* | use lookup table to remove root_dns_srvrs | stats count by src_ip dest_ip

Thanks for the help. BTW, I don't have access to the cli so if I have to update .conf files, there will be more questions. 🙂

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Unless your CSV file has more than 10500 lines, this should work:

index=asa dest_port=53 action=blocked dest_ip!=10* AND dest_ip!-172* NOT [|inputlookup your_lookup.csv | fields dest_ip] | stats count by src_ip dest_ip

View solution in original post

0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Unless your CSV file has more than 10500 lines, this should work:

index=asa dest_port=53 action=blocked dest_ip!=10* AND dest_ip!-172* NOT [|inputlookup your_lookup.csv | fields dest_ip] | stats count by src_ip dest_ip
0 Karma

wtaylor149
Explorer

Sorry but this answer does not exclude the IP's that are in the lookup table.

0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

It most certainly should; did you run it? When you do, click the Job Inspector and check out the Normalized Search. Does it look correct?

0 Karma

kearaspoor
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Try simply using the lookup table as part of the search string filtering using a NOT statement, instead of the join.

index=asa dest_port=53 action=blocked dest_ip!=10* AND dest_ip!-172* NOT[ inputlookup your_lookup.csv | fields dest_ip]
| stats count by src_ip dest_ip

jordanperks
Path Finder

This is the best way to do it in my opinion.

0 Karma

wtaylor149
Explorer