Splunk Search

How to group results by count with high number of values

external_alien_
Explorer

Hi everybody, I'm new to Splunk and this will be my first question!
I'm tinkering with some server response time data, and I would like to group the results by showing the percentage of response times within certain parameters. I was trying to group the data with one second intervals to see how many response times were within 0-1 seconds, 1-2,[...], 14-15 etc.
I tried filtering at the end of my query with:

| bin response_time span=1 | stats sum(count) as count by response_time

However, I got the warning :

These results may be truncated. This visualization is configured to display a maximum of 1000 results per series, and that limit has been reached. 

Am I filtering the values correctly but simply getting way too many results or is there something else I'm missing? Any way to narrow down the results further?
Purpose: My end goal is to display the results in for example a pie chart where probably 99% of the values would be between 0-1s.

All help is greatly appreciated, thank you in advance! 😃

1 Solution

external_alien_
Explorer

Got it! used the "top" command! Now have a beautiful pie chart with drill-down functionality that I'll expand on! thank you @sideview for your guidance and tips!
What works for me:

| eval secret_response_time = response_time  | bin response_time span=1s  
| eval response_time=case(secret_response_time>=0 AND secret_response_time<1,"0-1", secret_response_time>=1 AND secret_response_time<2,"1-2",secret_response_time>=2 AND secret_response_time<3,"2-3", secret_response_time>=3, "3+")  
| top response_time

View solution in original post

0 Karma

external_alien_
Explorer

Got it! used the "top" command! Now have a beautiful pie chart with drill-down functionality that I'll expand on! thank you @sideview for your guidance and tips!
What works for me:

| eval secret_response_time = response_time  | bin response_time span=1s