Splunk Search

How to get match to work with two sources

rossparfect
Path Finder

Okay so here's the problem, 2 sources and I have to rex out a file name and match it to a field within another file if it matches show success it if fails show failed, all sounds achievable in Splunk, but I keep hitting a problem that it will show a success match but won't show a failed match,

Heres the code ( I've changed the fields etc but see below):

Any help on this would be great Im new to splunk 
index="sample_log" sourcetype="STAR:OUT:ALL" | rename Trans_Name as REF |lookup REF APPL-FILENAME as Stream_Name |join 
REF [search index="sample_log" sourcetype="STAR:OUT:ACK" | rex field=source "ACK
_(?<REF>\w+)_" ]
|rex field=source "_(?<STP_Process_Time>\d{14})."
| eval results = if(match('REF', "\w{10}\d{6}\w+"), "Success", "Failed")
|table results
0 Karma

Sukisen1981
Champion

hmm you are performing a join by REF and you extract a rex also as REF.
So, what happens? by default the join command takes common field (A intersection B in set language), are you sure you , in fact have REF fields which should return failed?
The intersection join be default will return events (with REF field) common to both searches. Do the common REF fields have the same pattern as your match regex?

0 Karma

MuS
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi rossparfect,

give this a try:

(index="sample_log" sourcetype="STAR:OUT:ALL") OR (index="sample_log" sourcetype="STAR:OUT:ACK" )
| rex field=source "ACK _(?<REF>\w+)_"
| eval REF=case(isnotnull(Trans_Name),  Trans_Name, isnotnull(REF), REF, 1=1, "unknown") 
| lookup REF APPL-FILENAME as Stream_Name 
| rex field=source "_(?<STP_Process_Time>\d{14})."
| eval results = if(match(REF, "\w{10}\d{6}\w+"), "Success", "Failed")
| table results

If this still does not work, start removing | SPL from the back until you get the expected results.

Otherwise provide some sanitised sample events and the expect result and it will be easier to help.

Hope this helps ...