Splunk Search

How to extract two fields from a group?

kmhanson
Explorer

I am new to Regex expressions and trying to figure them out.

I am trying to extract two sections of the following log field: 

5002:fromhost=999.99.99.99:fromport=3299:sid=92ac3498-d95d-11ed-af19-92eb6037d638:respcode=OK:resptime=7:node=999999ss03:nodePort=5002:cosId=asasasa

I want the IP address that shows after fromhost and the COSID value asasasa at the end of the field and not having much luck

Labels (1)
0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Install the TA.  It will do all of this.

Otherwise you can do this:
... | rex "fromhost=(?<fromhost>[^=:]+).*:cosId=(?<cosId>.*)$"

But it would be better to setup a sourcetype-based global extraction (which the TA surely does), like this:
(?<_KEY_1>[^=:]+)=(?<_VAL_1>[^=:]+)

0 Karma

yuanliu
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Is there any reason why you must use regex?  For rigidly formatted strings like this, the easiest - in fact the cheapest solution is kv aka extract.  Assuming your field name is log:

| rename _raw as temp, log as _raw
| kv pairdelim=":" kvdelim="="
| rename _raw as log, temp as _raw

Your sample data should give you

cosIdfromhostfromportnodenodePortrespcoderesptimesid
asasasa999.99.99.993299999999ss035002OK792ac3498-d95d-11ed-af19-92eb6037d638

Tags (1)
0 Karma

kmhanson
Explorer

so is the full command: | rex field=port mode=sed fromhost=(?<fromhost>[^:]+) 

0 Karma

dtsariapkin
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

@kmhanson 
1) If you adamant in doing it all in single expression. You can do it like that:
fromhost=(?<fromhost>[^:]+)(.*cosId=(?<cosid>.*))?

Notice I put second part in brackets and put question mark at the end. That means that whatever is in parenthesis before can match once or not match at all. 

2) stick with the basic mode first. SED is for replacing things.
3) And you do not want field port do you? Not sure it does not exactly state that. Or I am being stupid.