Splunk Search

How to extract fields and assign values from my data with the field extractor utility?

gmelasecca
Engager

I have a custom file which we don't have problems searching certain "strings" within, but what I cannot figure out is how to create a custom field and then assign values to search on it. For instance, below is the query used to search for the 'string' with any IP Address thrown in between the single quotes at the end. I do not have issues returning the search. The issue is i want to use the field extractor to create fields. SEARCH: index=INDEX sourcetype=INDEX_LOG "call failed: Unable to connect to server '*'"

Field Example: create a field called: "Unable to connect to server" and within this field, i would be able to pull the IP Address values from it, distinguish the unique or duplicate values in a certain time frame. I hope that makes sense, i am new to splunk.

SAMPLE LOG FILE in bold is the search term i'm mainly looking for:
09104464 5160 AB9D87B12528D94D8CEFD068DA0C2B48 AEJ00101/PRD20002 REQUEST 0 BPSEJLA1/290 UpdImgSt
09104465 4108 9BC9B8192CFA92459E2353A4DABE24C6 AMN00101/PRD20002 REQUEST 0 BPSMONA1/349 RecAlertsWKS - WWS05656

09104465 4108 9BC9B8192CFA92459E2353A4DABE24C6 WSF05656/DEFAULT E G R PGNP0008 10060 BPSMONA1/2698 Error: Windows API function 'connect' call failed: Unable to connect to server '12.34.56.78'.,OT:100037/GMT-04,Suppressed=3

09104465 4108 9BC9B8192CFA92459E2353A4DABE24C6 WSF05656/DEFAULT C N R PGNS0001 10060 BPSMONA1/2698 Network Transport Error: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond...,OT:100037/GMT-04,Suppressed=3
09104467 3496 8758A6696193044980CF175B2A678315 ABC00101/PRD20002 REQUEST 0 BPSBCLA1/714 OprUpdSt
09104479 3372 93DA8C8A149B464590B928F80657C978 AOBCL101/PRD20002 SPCLTRCE 3 BPGCONTX/732 Data Insert Error