Splunk Search

How to extend a dataset to add a column that represents a numerical column as text?

LeeMoe
Path Finder

I have a dataset which has a column "Port" that contains (limited) numerical values.  I want to make these values display as text (e.g. 443 == HTTPS).  I could do this in Excel but I'm a Splunk newbie and frankly in need of a nudge in the right direction....I assume it would be some kind of lookup?

I would then pull the text values into a pivot for a dashboard to replace my current one with the port numbers.

Kudos and virtual shiny things for anyone who can help 🙂

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

richgalloway
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Use the same answer I gave earlier, except change the file name and output field name.

BTW, lookup files typically don't contain timestamps.

---
If this reply helps you, Karma would be appreciated.

View solution in original post

LeeMoe
Path Finder

Thank you, this looks awesome:

OC-dash-namedports.png

0 Karma

LeeMoe
Path Finder

Rich, thank you.  I now have meaningful things in my dashboard and I am grateful.

OC-dash-namedports.png

Splunk is brilliant and I think you are pretty darn cool too 🙂

LeeMoe
Path Finder

Rich, thanks, you shook my head enough to go and load the file into a Lookup (duh).

So now I parse my thing and get two columns for Port and Protocol based on my lookup - which is cool.  Thank you so much.  If I wanted to mix the fields from my index and my lookup, I am sure that's simple to you too (but not to me, sorry).  Can you point me in the right direction there too?  

index="myindex"
| rex "message=\"(?<message>{.+})\" +path="
| eval message = replace(message, ".\"", "\"")
| spath input=message
| lookup ports_protocols.csv Port OUTPUT Protocol | table Port Protocol

0 Karma

LeeMoe
Path Finder

Background: this builds on a previous question.

I've now imported a CSV file into a new index and stored it in a new table/dataset (ports_protocols)