Splunk Search

How to edit my search to graph a list of values with different colored bars or lines?

sohnaeo

Hello Guys,

I am new to Splunk so please bear with me. I am having an issue and couldn't find any resolution yet. I have log file that looks like below.

Note: many lines logged at the same

I am using the below search query.

index=number| timechart span=5m list(Random)

It is showing the results and Statistics is showing the multiple numbers at the exact time like below

2015-03-18 15:55:00

But visualization graph is not showing these numbers , if I use max(Random) then it chooses the max number from the 3 above and shows in the Visualization graph. Is there any way I can see all these 3 numbers in one bar graph line with different colors?

Is it possible?

Thanks in advance.

0 Karma
1 Solution

ngatchasandra
Builder

Hi,sohnaeo,
You will use the the mvexpand command because you have in your data the multivalues fields
Here is the good query to visualize all Random Values: index=numbers| timechart span=5m list(Random) |mvexpand list(Random) or
with min(Random) and max(Random) : index=numbers| timechart span=5m max(Random) min(Random) list(Random) |mvexpand list(Random)

View solution in original post

ngatchasandra
Builder

Hi,sohnaeo,
You will use the the mvexpand command because you have in your data the multivalues fields
Here is the good query to visualize all Random Values: index=numbers| timechart span=5m list(Random) |mvexpand list(Random) or
with min(Random) and max(Random) : index=numbers| timechart span=5m max(Random) min(Random) list(Random) |mvexpand list(Random)

sohnaeo

You are a legend mate, thanks a lot exactly thats what I wanted.

0 Karma

ngatchasandra
Builder

Hi,

The query like follow show me the min and max Random of each date

index=numbers| timechart span=5m max(Random) min(Random)
0 Karma

sohnaeo