Splunk Search

How to detect a flapping load balancer - up to down to back 5x times?

amoshos
Loves-to-Learn

Hi all,

First time posting here so please be patient and I am relatively new to the Splunk environment, but I am struggling to figure out this search function.

My manager has asked me to create an alert for Load Balancers flapping on our server.

Criteria;
- Runs every 15 mins (I assume this can be set in the "alert" settings)
- Fires if a load balancer switches from Up to Down and Back more than 5 times

This second point I am struggling to work out - this is what I have so far;

index=xxx  sourcetype="xxx" host="xxx" (State=UP OR State=DOWN) State="*"
| stats count by State
| eval state_status = if(DOWN+UP == 5, "Problem", "OK")
| stats count by state_status

Note - "State" is the field in question as it stores the UP/DOWN events which have values.

Based on this, I can get an individual count of when the load balancer displayed UP and when it displayed DOWN, however I need to turn this into a threshold search to only display a count of how many times it changed from UP to DOWN 5x consecutive times.

Any and all help will be much appreciated.

Labels (4)
0 Karma

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@amoshos 

If you are looking to count transitions, then use streamstats. 

Note examples like this that use | makeresults are generally designed to show you how you can achieve something.

This is a simple example you can run in the search window, which will create alternating events over 15 minutes. It achieves this by

• sorting the events in time order, so the earliest on comes first
  • adding the two adjacent event states into a new field called states, that contains the previous event and the current event state
  • checks if the two states are in the order UP->DOWN, indicating the previous state was up and the new state is down (value 1) or value 0 if not
  • sum all the value 1 states from above
| makeresults count=15
| streamstats c