Splunk Search

How to design a data catalogue that captures all source types that are being ingested?

tirelana
Engager

I'm looking at designing a Splunk data catalogue that captures all source types (and metadata) that are currently being ingested, so that we can quickly see what the current state of the workspace. E.g. a customer who wants access to event X can use the catalogue to check that source type Y exists already. Has anyone done something similar to this or have suggestions? I'm quite new to Splunk but it seemed like it could be a common 'nice to have' for Splunk users. 

Thanks. 

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

VatsalJagani
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Use this search:

| metadata type=sourcetypes index=*

(Timerange picker matters, so run it in the same timerange as what you would consider all the sourcetypes being included. like last 7 days or last 30 days)

| metadata type=sourcetypes index=* | rename totalCount as Count firstTime as "First Event" lastTime as "Last Event" recentTime as "Last Update" | fieldformat Count=tostring(Count, "commas") | fieldformat "First Event"=strftime('First Event', "%c") | fieldformat "Last Event"=strftime('Last Event', "%c") | fieldformat "Last Update"=strftime('Last Update', "%c")

for additional formatting.

View solution in original post

VatsalJagani
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Use this search:

| metadata type=sourcetypes index=*

(Timerange picker matters, so run it in the same timerange as what you would consider all the sourcetypes being included. like last 7 days or last 30 days)

| metadata type=sourcetypes index=* | rename totalCount as Count firstTime as "First Event" lastTime as "Last Event" recentTime as "Last Update" | fieldformat Count=tostring(Count, "commas") | fieldformat "First Event"=strftime('First Event', "%c") | fieldformat "Last Event"=strftime('Last Event', "%c") | fieldformat "Last Update"=strftime('Last Update', "%c")

for additional formatting.

tirelana
Engager