Splunk Search

How to define sourcetype for new file format

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I'm a newbie, so go easy please.

I have a file structure that has field groups separated by ; and within each group there is 1 or more values. For example the line

000101;102;356;3284;4,2;0;UserName,UserId;2011-05-02 07:24:25.275;63,15;0,9;id=xx,q=name

equates to the following

Service = 000101

Cmd = 102

Pid = 356

Tid = 3284

Counts = 4,2 (2 different counters)

Result = 0

User = UserName,Id

Date = 2011-05-02 07:24:25.275

--- All data records are constant syntax up to this point, followed by

Timers = 63,15 - contains 1..n timers - first is total elapsed time

Values = 0,9 - contains 1..n values related to Cmd 102

Fields = id=xx,q=name (contains 1..n key/value pairs - related to Cmd 102)

I've read lots about sourcetypes, props.conf, inputs.conf, index time and search time and so on but just can't quite join the dots to work out how to make splunk extract the data and assign it to these named fields.

Can anyone start me with the first dot and point me in the right direction

Thanks

Tags (2)

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Thanks gkanapathy, great help - so many ways to achieve the same thing, wow this is powerful.

0 Karma

gkanapathy
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

you can use the mvindex() eval function on your multi-value lists, but you first need to convert it from a string to a mvlist, using either the makemv search command, the split() eval function, or by defining an additional REPORT extraction (that runs after the main one you already have) for each field that operates on the originallly extracted list and puts the values in a list with the MV_ADD option.

0 Karma

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Update....

I finally got the regex going

REGEX = ^(?[^;]);(?[^;]);(?[^;]);(?[^;]);(?[^,]),(?[^;]);(?[^;]);(?[^,]),(?[^;]);(?[^;]);(?:(?[^;]);)?(?:(?[^;]);)?(?:(?[^;]*)$)?