Splunk Search

How to define a transaction search based on different start and end formats?

psteja
Engager

I am a Splunk newbie at beginner level. Trying to use transactions to get the length of duration of a given user session, and other analysis there of.

The session start entry (single Splunk entry with three lines) looks like:

TIMESTAMP New Session
ID:RANDOMSESSIONID
Session ready

The session end entry (single Splunk entry with two lines) looks like:

TIMESTAMP Session destroyed
Destroyed session ID MATCHINGRANDOMSESSIONID

I am not sure how my transaction definition in Splunk should look like. Any help appreciated.

0 Karma
1 Solution

sundareshr
Legend

I would suggest adding a maxevents count, just to keep the transaction command quick.

... | rex "ID:(?<ID>[^\s]+)" | rex "Destroyed session ID is(?<ID>[^\s]+)" | transaction ID startswith="ready" endswith="destroyed" maxevents=2 | table ID duration

Now, if you are interested in looking at transactions that didn't get destroyed, you need to keepevicted

... | rex "ID:(?<ID>[^\s]+)" | rex "Destroyed session ID is(?<ID>[^\s]+)" | transaction ID startswith="ready" endswith="destroyed" maxevents=2 keepevicted=t | where closed_txn=0

View solution in original post

sundareshr
Legend

I would suggest adding a maxevents count, just to keep the transaction command quick.

... | rex "ID:(?<ID>[^\s]+)" | rex "Destroyed session ID is(?<ID>[^\s]+)" | transaction ID startswith="ready" endswith="destroyed" maxevents=2 | table ID duration

Now, if you are interested in looking at transactions that didn't get destroyed, you need to keepevicted

... | rex "ID:(?<ID>[^\s]+)" | rex "Destroyed session ID is(?<ID>[^\s]+)" | transaction ID startswith="ready" endswith="destroyed" maxevents=2 keepevicted=t | where closed_txn=0

psteja
Engager

um. How do I extract ID ? The end session line is actually like "Destroyed session ID isRAMDOMSESSIONID". Note the 'is' and no space after it.

0 Karma

sundareshr
Legend