Splunk Search

How to create an alert for multiple alerts (fires when too many of specific alerts are activated)

spluzer
Communicator

Newbie here. I'm trying to set an alert that runs every 5 minutes and looks back over the past hour. It would trigger when we have "too many" of certain important ("heartbeat alert" for example) alerts firing. The tricky part is getting the "baseline" over the past 30 days or so to figure out what an appropriate "trigger number" might be. I'm filtering out certain alerts using a lookup

Right now I'm thinking of using a z_score, but subsearches are limited to 10k results which I'm assuming would skew the data too much. Does anybody have any cool ideas?
Here is my current search outline, indicating the path I'm trying to go down. I'm open to any suggestions if you think the "z_score route" isn't going to get me there...

My search for fired_alert NOT [inputlookup nonessential_alerts] earliest 30d@d

|  stats count t by fired_alert_name
| evetstats mean(count) as mean_count stdev(count) as stdev_count
| eval z_score (round (((count-mean/stedev) 
 | eval bad_times=case z_score >,<,= blah blah)

Then,

| Appendcols 

"Same query for last day or so to get another z_score to compare to the "baseline"

Then,

| eval bad_times=case z_score >,<,= blah blah)

And the alert will fire letting us know that too many "important alerts" are going off, thus something is seriously wrong

Ultimately, I'm looking for a clever way to get a smart and accurate count of alerts in the past to get the baseline, then set up a search to alert when something is wrong because too many important alerts are going off. Sorta predictive analytics question I guess. As of right now, I can't download any "apps" that might do this... I have done it "old school" (for lack of better words)

Thanks all!

0 Karma
1 Solution

rbechtold
Communicator

Hold on to your hat, this is about to get a bit ridiculous. Long needlessly complicated searches are my specialty!