Splunk Search

How to configure indexer, search head, deployment

funlearning321

Hello,

I am new to splunk and learning it . My question is when we install splunk what are things to be done if need a server to act as a deployment server or if need the server to act as a search head

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi funlearning321,
I suggest to follow the documentation about this topic: https://www.splunk.com/blog/2016/08/31/adding-a-deployment-server-forwarder-management-to-a-new-or-e...
In addition, you can find yhis useful video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uiU_jGxnnuc

Anyway, the way to proceed is easy:
if you are only testing distributed deployment you have to:

• choose a server as Deployment Server (remember that if you have more than 50 Forwarders you need a dedicated server);
  • install Splunk on this Server;
  • on each Forwarder, set the correct Deployment Server address using the CLI $SPLUNK_HOME/bin/splunk set deploy-poll servername.mydomain.com:8089
  • you can do the same thing inserting in the file $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local/deploymentclient.conf the following rows

[target-broker:deploymentServer]

Change the targetUri

targetUri = deploymentserver.splunk.mycompany.com:8089

• restart splunk on Forwarder

• You'll see the Forwarder on the Deployment server at [Settings -- Forwarder management]

If instead you need a Forwarder management, you have to use a different approach:

On Deployment Server:

• install Deployment server in the same way,
  • create an App (called e.g. "TA_Forwarders" in which there are only two files: deploymentclient.conf and outputs.conf, in deploymentclient.conf there the correct Deployment server Addressing (the same of previous item);
  • design your deployment policy: define server classes (a list of server with the same apps) and apps;
  • copy TA_Forwarders in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/deployment-apps
  • copy apps in $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/deployment-apps
  • create Server Classes

On Universal Forwarder: