Splunk Search

How to compare two search results and list difference and matches?

ikenahim7
Explorer

Hi guys im new to Splunk, 

Im trying to write a query to compare two search results and shows the differences and the matches, both search results are coming from the same index. 

I would like to have something like this, where {path-values}  hold the paths values and {countpath} holds the count.

Build-type   |  paths-count | matches-values    | diff-values             | matches-count | diff-count| 

gradle           | 20K                  | {path-values}         | {path-values}        | {countpath}         | {countpath} 

bazel             | 10K                  | {path-values}         | {path-values}       | {countpath}           | {countpath} 

my index is based on this json, where total event is a 30k (number of json posted to splunk)

{"source":"build","sourcetype":"json","event":{"type":"bazel","paths":["test3"]}}

my current query looks like:

index="build" type="bazel"
| stats values(paths{}) as paths | stats count(eval(paths)) AS totalbazelpaths
| mvexpand totalbazelpaths
| eval eventFound = 0
| join type=left run_id paths
[ index="build" type="gradle"
| stats values(paths{}) as paths | stats count(eval(paths)) AS totalgradlepaths
| mvexpand totalgradlepaths
| eval eventFound=1]
| eval percentage = round(totalbazelpaths/totalgradlepaths, 10)
| table totalgradlepaths totalbazelpaths percentage

any help how to achieve this? @yuanliu 

Thanks 

Labels (4)
0 Karma
1 Solution

yuanliu
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Small correction: search command wildcard doesn't work in where command.  So, either | search paths{} !="*.cpp" or | where match('paths{}', "\.cpp$") after  mvexpand, e.g.,

index="build" (type="bazel" OR type="gradle")
| mvexpand paths{}
| search paths{} != *.cpp
| eventstats dc(type) as typecount values(type) as types by paths{}
| eval matches_values = if(typecount>1, 'paths{}', null()), diff_values = if(typecount>1, null(), 'paths{}')