Splunk Search

How to compare predefined fields against Splunk search query? And then for each mismatch in result?

chandysir
Explorer

Hello All,

I am new to Splunk.

My Splunk index is already getting data from a Kafka source

index=k_index sourcetype=k_message
The query result is something like 
{Field1=abc,Field2=sdfs,Field3=wertw,Field4=123,Field6=87089R....}

I have got a use case where I have a list of fields and associated datatypes, 

I want to compare these predefined fields (fields only - no values) against the Splunk search query results and then for each mismatch in the result, needs to keep count of it and produce it as a percentage of the total. In short, give a score if the incoming events in the last 15 mins are good (like 100% or 90% ….etc)

Thanks,

Alwyn

Labels (7)
0 Karma
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

SPL is not a procedural language - having said that, you could evaluate a field based on the presence of other fields in each event

| eval good=if{isnotnull(Field1) AND isnotnull(Field2) AND isnotnull(Field3) AND isnotnull(Field4) AND isnotnull(Field6), "good", null())
| stats count count(good) as good
| eval percentage=round(100*good/count, 2)

View solution in original post

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

You could try something like this

| rex "(?<good>\{Field1=.+,Field2=.+,Field3=.+,Field4=.+,Field6=.+\}"

chandysir
Explorer

Thankyou @ITWhisperer , This is a good one.

The fields are already parsed out by splunk. 

So I am thinking of something without using regular expressions.

In simple terms it could be like

> if (Field1, Field2... Fieldn) in predefined list (Field1,Field2,Field3.......Fieldm), then its a pass else the failure counter is increased.

Any suggestions ?

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

SPL is not a procedural language - having said that, you could evaluate a field based on the presence of other fields in each event