Splunk Search

How to Multiple Source Type Search?

coldwolf2000
Explorer

Hello,

I need some help. I am new to Splunk and have run into an issue. I want to have table that will display Computer Name, Physical Address, Device Type, IP Adress, and what version of Office thy Have (2013 or 365). The data is under one index but 3 different source types.  

Index=Desktops

SourceType 1= AssetInfo - It has lots of fields but the 3 I care about is PysAddress, DevType, ComputerName 

SourceType 2 = Network - It has many fields but the only tw I want, and they are called IPAddress, Computer

SourceType 3 = Software -  It has 3 fields, I care about all 3, which are Compuetr, SoftwareName, Software Verison.

I want to pull info from all 3 source types and make one table. the common filed is computer name. The first issue is that in SourceType 1 the field is called ComputerName and the other 2 sourcetypes it is Computer. I know I could do a rename command on the sourcetype 1 if I had to. I have tried the OR Boolaen, Multisearch command, Union command and Join but I can never seem to get it to work right, the table gets created but the info it pulls he IP and creates one line then a seperate line for software. they are never ont eh same line. the next issue is that I need to filter on software that contains Microsoft office 2013 or Office 365. 

Any Ideas would be welcomed

Labels (3)
0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

The simplest solution would be to do something like that:

1) select events from all your relevant sourcetypes

sourcetype=s1 OR sourcetype=s2 OR sourcetype=s3

2) Since in two types of events you have a field named Computer and in one you have ComputerName, you have to normalize the ComputerName field to be consistent with the rest of the events

| rename ComputerName AS Computer

In a more complicated case you could be needing a conditional evaluation instead of a simple rename but here luckily we don't have any field name clashes