Splunk Search

How do I exclude a certain set of servers in search results based on a particular set of values

Jarohnimo
Builder

I know my question is gray so allow me to explain.

I have a splunk dashboard that monitors the Current Application Pool state of all our web servers. The basic concept is, if the sites are running they will have a Value of 3, if they are stopped they will have a value of 0. The problem we have is that not all sites exist on all web servers so we need to be able to exclude down application pools on certain servers.

For example:
If I have 5 Web servers, on web server 1 and 2 I have website http://test.com but test.com doesn't exist on web server 3 4 and 5. So on server's 3 4 and 5 we have stopped the application pools for site test.com so now the dashboard shows 3 down application pools where as we don't care! We would like to ignore those down app pools on 3 4 5 ... I thought this could be done with a subsearch or perhaps search NOT but I'm very new to search and have a hard time with the syntax.

Could anyone provide an example of how I can accomplish the exclusion? thank you

0 Karma
1 Solution

DalJeanis
Legend

Something like this -

index=web counter="Current Application Pool State" instance=* 
    | eval host_app=host."__".instance 
    | dedup host_app 
    | eval dropme=if(like(host_app,"^.*test[^_]+__[345]$"),1,0)
    | search dropme = 0
    | chart count by host 
    | sort 0 -Value

The intention of the regular expression in the like clause is to take any host that has the word test in it somewhere, consume all characters before first underscore, then the two underscores, then check for instances 3 thru 5 (assuming that it is a single digit for the instance number). Modify the regex as necessary.

edited to use sort 0 instead of sort in case there were more than 100 values to be sorted.

View solution in original post

DalJeanis
Legend

Something like this -

index=web counter="Current Application Pool State" instance=*