Splunk Search

How can I group by same amount of records? (percentiles)

pguridi

Hi everyone, Splunk noob here.. so any I help I would be grateful!. I've been trying to use the percX() function without success but I think it should be possible to use it to get this done.

Lets say I have a list of records with scores. I need to group them in buckets with the same amount of records on each.

Example:
I have 800 records with the field "score" (integer value) and I need to group them in groups of 20% (sorted by the score). The first bucket would be "the worst 20%", the second bucket the "second worst 20%" and so on.

At the end I need to get a table like this:

Bucket | Avg(some_field) | count
Bucket1 | X | 160 <--- The worst 20%
Bucket2 | X | 160
Bucket3 | X | 160
Bucket4 | X | 160
Bucket5 | X | 160 <--- The top 20%

thanks!

0 Karma

Richfez
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

So, yes. 🙂

I don't have your data, so I mocked up some that's close enough using the wind speed as reported by my Ecobee Thermostat - integers like yours, or close enough I think, for a month some time last year. It should be pretty easy to modify this technique and make it fit your data exactly.

index="ecobee3" "Wind Speed _km_h">0 
| eventstats perc20("Wind Speed _km_h") AS WS20 
| eventstats perc40("Wind Speed _km_h") AS WS40 
| eventstats perc60("Wind Speed _km_h") AS WS60
| eventstats perc80("Wind Speed _km_h") AS WS80
| eval Ranking=case('Wind Speed _km_h'<=WS20,20,'Wind Speed _km_h'<=WS40,40,'Wind Speed _km_h'<=WS60,60,'Wind Speed _km_h'<=WS80,80,1==1,100)
| stats count by Ranking | sort + Ranking

First, in line one I search my index and also for where "Wind Speed _km_h" is greater than zero, simply because it's often zero. You don't have to strip that out if you don't want.