Splunk Search

Help with Stats count expression??

kfinn
Explorer

Hi Everyone,

I'm newer-ish to splunk.  I'm doing a search similar to this in splunk : index=mfa sourcetype=lexus Subcategory="Delivery Method".

With the search results, I want to do stats count by action, but It brings back results similar to this(see below), with each action having a different phone number. How do I get stats only on the wording "User selected text Deilvery"? and not having 1 stat for every phone number.  There are 100 actions with the different phone numbers. I just want a count by User selected text delivery.

"User selected text delivery to ***-***-****"

I hope this makes sense. I'll gladly provide more info if needed. i'm just pretty new to this, and looking for some help.

Kevin

Labels (4)
0 Karma
1 Solution

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

So, if your 4th action is as described, but you still want the delivery mechanism, then either of these two will work - using a different technique to demonstrate the are of the possible 🙂

index=mfa sourcetype=lexus Subcategory="Delivery Method"
| rex field=action "(User choose to answer security|User selected) (?<mode>\w+) (delivery|questions)"
| stats count by mode

OR this using an eval technique

| rex field=action "User selected (?<mode>\w+) delivery"
| eval mode=if(!isnull(mode), mode, if(match(action, "User choose to answer security questions"), "security", "unknown"))
| stats count by mode

usage comes down to preference/your data and whether this will work well if your data changes. The above will set mode for the most common case, then test if it's not set and evaluate the new security question condition and return unknown if it does not match that.

View solution in original post

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Use this

| rex field=action mode=sed "s/(User selected text delivery).*/\1/"

It won't change your other actions.

There are other ways to achieve the same end, but this is an easy option. See rex command doc