Splunk Search

Help with Splunk query for battery status, cpu usage, disk space

boxenberg
Explorer

Hi,

Please indulge me as I am relatively new to Splunk.

I wish to create a query or report I can run on demand to provide proactive data from our client (Windows) machines, namely battery status, CPU usage, disk space usage, along those lines.

I found the below on Lantern, but, pardon my ignorance, but have no idea how i would implement this in a Splunk search.  

| mstats avg(LogicalDisk.%_Free_Space) AS "win_storage_free" WHERE index="<name of your metrics index>" host="<names of the hosts you want to check>" instance="<names of drives you want to check>" instance!="_Total" BY host, instance span=1m
| eval storage_used_percent=round(100-win_storage_free,2)
| eval host_dev=printf("%s:%s\\",host,instance)
| timechart max(storage_used_percent) AS storage_used_percent BY host_dev

Would appreciate some help and guidance.

Thank you in advance! 

Labels (2)
Tags (3)
0 Karma

Stefanie
Builder

This search utilizes metrics data.  Do you know if your environment is already collecting metrics data? What about the resource usage (CPU usage, etc)?

0 Karma

boxenberg
Explorer

Hi Stefanie,

Thank you so much for your reply.

Not sure what you mean when asking if we already collect metrics data?  We use Quest's KACE for the moment but will be moving away from that product in the very near future, and I can get some of the data we are looking for there.  

I want something reliable we can use going forward.  My understanding was Splunk would query WMI on our client machines to provide the data I am looking for?

Thank you!!!

Barry

0 Karma

Stefanie
Builder

Ah okay that helps me out.