Splunk Search

Head for each value of a field

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi there.

I'm relatively new to searching in Splunk so I can't sometimes get my head wrapped up around some Splunk concepts 😉

Anyway. I'm trying to achieve something and I can't seem to be able to get it right.

Let's assume I have an index containing some login events into the system. It contains a username column, a timestamp (obviously) and an IP of a remote endpoint.

What I need is to make a table containing last n login entries for each user. So I'd love to have something like (assuming limiting to 3 latest entries):

login1IP1time1
login1IP2time2
login1IP3time3
login2IP4time4
login2IP5time5

I tried using "| stats list" but (apart from splunk shouting at me for exceeding some list limits) it makes a multivalue field which I cannot further process (for example by geoip).

Any attempt to combine sort and head ends up with limiting the data without taking into account distinct values of a login column. So that's not what I want. Time should indeed be monotonic and sorted but only within single login. In the case above, there is no strict rule between times 1-3 and, let's say, 4-6. So simple sorting doesn't work.

Foreach sounded nicely but it seems it's for completely different use cases (it iterates over columns, not over values).

Any other hints?

Labels (2)
Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

OK. Found it 🙂

It seems I need the map command.

Something like:

index=logins
| fields login
| dedup login
| map search="search index=logins login=\"$login$\" | head 5"

It's a bit ugly 😉 but seems to work.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

PickleRick
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

OK. Found it 🙂

It seems I need the map command.

Something like:

index=logins
| fields login
| dedup login
| map search="search index=logins login=\"$login$\" | head 5"

It's a bit ugly 😉 but seems to work.

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @PickleRick,