Splunk Search

Extract information like time from NLog formatted event?

97WaterPolo
Engager

Hello,

So this is my first time trying to consolidate logs and use the data extraction and I am a little lost. I have the following payload below and I would like to extract the following fields from the "line" field in the json payload.

An example payload would be

{"line":"2021/10/25 18:49:52.982|DEBUG|GoogleHomeController|Recieved a request for broadcast: {\"Message\":\"Ring Ring Ring Niko and Xander, someone is at your front door and rung the doorbell!\",\"ExecuteTime\":\"0001-01-01T00:00:00\"}","source":"stdout","tag":"b5fcd8b8b5a4"}

• Time - "2021/10/25 18:49:52.982"
  • Level - "DEBUG"
  • Controller - "GoogleHomeController"
  • Message - "Recieved a request for broadcast..."

It all follows the format "{TIME}|{LEVEL}|{CONTROLLER}|{MESSAGE}" basically the fields seperated by pipe characters.

I have all the information there formatted using NLog in my code, but how do I extract the fields that are within a field out that way I can search based on the Time (from the log msg), Log Level, Controller, and Message?

How would I go about pulling this information out? I tried going through the field extraction, but it only seems to let me do it at the highlest level, IE the line, source, and tag fields, not the fields within.

Labels (1)
0 Karma

venkatasri
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@97WaterPolo  Try if this works!

<your_base_search>
| rex "\{\"line\":\"(?<time>.+)\|(?<log_level>.+)\|(?<Controller>.+)\|(?<Message>.+)\}\""

97WaterPolo
Engager

Oh wow that's pretty cool that it maps the fields from the Regex. That is like 80% complete. I still have the issue if it pulling both of the times

• is it possible to get rid of the "_time" column and only have the "time" one from the Regex? Right now it has both.
  • How do you omit logs that don't meet that format? I have a few logs generated that don't meet that format so they are just showing up as empty across the page.