Splunk Search

Extract erros from logs

haist
Explorer

Hi,

I'm new to Splunk and I would like to get top errors on a table, but the external API returns a stack tracing making it difficult to work on it.

I'm trying to make a regex that groups those errors by error code "*Return code: [<code>]*"( letting it work with other errors), than count it.

Could you help me, please? 🥺

Labels (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

haist
Explorer

Hi @gcusello, thanks for the suggestion

I used Rex to create a new field with return code, then stats to count and show similar errors

| rex field=Response.body.Result "(?<code>(Return code: \[\d+]|null))"
| stats first(Response.body.Result) as Logs count(code) as Events
| table Logs, Events

View solution in original post

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @haist,

if you need help in regex creation, you should share some log examples.

If instead you need help in search, you have to follow these steps:

• identify the error conditions (e.g. in ora errors are identified by ORA9999),
  • create a new field (code) using the identified regex,
  • Use the new field to filter your logs to have only the error logs,
  • identify the relevant fields to display in the table (e.g. host, earliest, latest),
  • identify eventual aggregation fields (e.g. code),
  • create simple search like the following:
index=your_index code IN ("error1","error2","error3")
| stats values(host) AS host earliest(_time) AS earliest latest(_time) AS latest count BY code
| eval 
   earliest=strftime(earliest,"%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S"),
   latest=strftime(latest,"%Y-%m-%d %H:%M:%S")

Ciao.

Giuseppe

haist
Explorer

Hi @gcusello, thanks for the suggestion

I used Rex to create a new field with return code, then stats to count and show similar errors

| rex field=Response.body.Result "(?<code>(Return code: \[\d+]|null))"
| stats first(Response.body.Result) as Logs count(code) as Events
| table Logs, Events

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @haist,