Splunk Search

External search command 'dbquery' returned error code 1. Script output = 'There is no such database [abcdef] available.

rahul2gupta
Path Finder

Hi @gcusello ,

When I am running the following  query it is working fine .

|dbquery wmsewprd "select REC_TYPE, CODE_TYPE, CODE_DESC, SHORT_DESC, USER_ID from wmsew.SYS_CODE_TYPE"

But when my colleague is trying to run the same query he is getting the external command error.

External search command 'dbquery' returned error code 1. Script output = 'There is no such database [abcdef] available.for the user.

Please help.

Regards,

Rahul

Labels (1)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @rahul2gupta,

check the grants of the user used by your colleague, propbably are different than yours.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

rahul2gupta
Path Finder

Hi @gcusello ,

Yes,its different I am an admin where as he has a role of user & power.

While running the search I am getting results where as he is getting error.what needs to be done to avoid this error.

Do we need to grant him dbx_user role.if yes,I tried to edit his role but unable to do.what stopping me?

Regards,

Rahul

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @rahul2gupta,

check if dbx and the inputs search you're using is usable for Powers and/or Users.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

rahul2gupta
Path Finder

Hi @gcusello ,

could you please guide how to check this.

Regards,

Rahul

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @rahul2gupta,

you can check if your colleages has the grants on the App in [Manage Apps -- DB Connect -- Permissions].

About the inputs, at this moment I haven't an installation with DB Connect, but if you see in the web gui you should find permissions.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

rahul2gupta
Path Finder

Hi @gcusello ,

We believe by adding dbx_user role to the user we can avoid this error.

But when I am try to add its not getting added,How should I add this.

rahul2gupta_0-1595397078298.png

Regards,

Rahul

0 Karma