Splunk Search

Dynamically Change panel background color based on returned value (no js possible)

AdrianH
Explorer

Hi. 

First, I've been using this forum for a few months now as I'm new to Splunk.   Thanks to all the contributors on here!!

So here's what I'm trying to figure out.   I have a dashboard with 3 line charts.  Each line chart is in it's own unique panel (each panel has it's own unique Id).  I'd like to change the panel background when a returned query value is above a certain number but green when below that number.

This is the sample code I'm using to hardcode the 3 panels to either red or green.

<row>
<panel>
<html>
<style>
#A .dashboard-panel {
background: #5AAF71 !important;
}

#B .dashboard-panel {
background: #E35033 !important;
}

#C .dashboard-panel {
background: #5AAF71 !important;
}
</style>

</html>
</panel>
</row>

But I'm looking for a way to dynamically change the panel background colors based on the query returning value.

Also, I am not an admin and we don't have permissions to load javascript / CSS files so all of my coding will have to be set into the Dashboard XML.

I have used the range before to change colors in the Singles.  Just not sure if it's possible with a panel background that the line chart sits in.

thanks in advance!

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

You need to put the field name in single quotes and you have to encode the greater than sign

<done>
        <condition match="'result.AvgMemUsed'&gt;80">
                <set token="backgroundcolour">red</set>
        </condition>
        <condition>
                <set token="backgroundcolour">green</set>
        </condition>
</done>

View solution in original post

0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

You can use token in the CSS stylesheet

#A .dashboard-element-header {
            background: $backgroundcolour$ !important;
          }

which you could set in the done handler of the search

<done>