Splunk Search

Dynamic field extraction based on other field data

davidatpinger
Path Finder

My apologies if this is easy - I couldn't find a good example.

I've got some log data that is mostly nicely formatted. It's all comma separated with set fields at the beginning of a line. So far so good. The last standard field is special, because it contains a description of the remaining fields in the line, and the number or remaining fields is variable and dynamic. A sample log might look like (in a generic sense):

field1,field2,field3,(arg1Name;arg2Name;arg3Name),arg1,arg2,arg3

What I'd like is to have fields extracted such that the name of the field for arg1 is arg1Name, arg2's field name is arg2Name, etc. Note that there may be 0-many arguments (although there should always be a matching number of names for those fields in the earlier descriptive field).

I'm pretty sure there's a clever way to do this with transforms, but I haven't figured it out. I'm pretty new to splunk, so please be gentle.

Thanks much!

0 Karma
1 Solution

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Splunk> see the forest, and the trees
Splunk> extract the values, and the keys

You can tell Splunk to extract the values and their keys in transforms.conf, but since regular expressions can't count well this is a bit ugly. There's no simple way of telling a regex to pair up part X of this list with part X of that list without enumerating the N parts between that... so here's a workaround:

props.conf
[your_sourcetype]
REPORT-kvs = kv_one,kv_two,kv_three,...

transforms.conf
[kv_one]
REGEX = ,\((?<_KEY_1>\w+)\),(?<_VAL_1>[^,]+)

[kv_two]
REGEX = ,\((?<_KEY_1>\w+);(?<_KEY_2>\w+)\),(?<_VAL_1>[^,]+),(?<_VAL_2>[^,]+)

[kv_three]
REGEX = ,\((?<_KEY_1>\w+);(?<_KEY_2>\w+);(?<_KEY_3>\w+)\),(?<_VAL_1>[^,]+),(?<_VAL_2>[^,]+),(?<_VAL_3>[^,]+)