Splunk Search

Displaying on the map using longitude and latitude ?

puneetkharband1
Path Finder

Hi All,
I am very new to Splunk. My task is to display the location on the map using IP address.
I am able to succeed getting the Longitude and latitude. What I need next is to display it on the map or I can say point it to the map.

Please suggest how can I do this. Below is the search string I am using where I am getting the geobin, longitude and latitude

index="cc_web" sourcetype=* sourcetype= * | rex field=_raw "(?i)^(?P[^ ]+) "| search IP_address="*" | top limit=33 IP_address | iplocation IP_address| geostats first(item_number) as Item
0 Karma

puneetkharband1
Path Finder

Do I need to buy any third party extension to get the maps enabled as I tried the other widgets ..all are showing some data ..only map doesn't show any location ?

0 Karma

aljohnson_splun
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

No you don't need to buy any third party extensions to get the maps enabled. It's your search string using the first function I think, that is disabling the data from being seen.

0 Karma

puneetkharband1
Path Finder

Thanks for your quick response .....but I tried that but I am not able to see the view points on the map ...it just stays blank on the map but below the map it shows the stats table with same values geobin longitude and latitude.

0 Karma

puneetkharband1
Path Finder

When I do count by city ..No result found
index="cc_web" sourcetype=* sourcetype= * | rex field=_raw "(?i)^(?P[^ ]+) "| search IP_address="*" | top limit=33 IP_address | iplocation IP_address | geostats count by city

When I do by Item I get the stats but nothing in Map
index="cc_web" sourcetype=* sourcetype= * | rex field=_raw "(?i)^(?P[^ ]+) "| search IP_address="*" | top limit=33 IP_address | iplocation IP_address | geostats first(item_number) as Item

0 Karma

puneetkharband1
Path Finder